Friday, 7 December 2012

12+: Falling Kindoms - Morgan Rhodes

Release Date: 03/01/13

Book Blurb: 
Fantasy, romance and magic meld with unforgettable characters in this sensational series debut. Perfect for fans of George RR Martin's "Game of Thrones", JRR Tolkein's "The Hobbit", and Trudy Canavan's "Black Magician" trilogy. In a land where magic has been forgotten and peace has reigned for centuries, unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms battle for power...A princess must journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long-thought extinct. A rebel becomes the leader of a bloody revolution. A Sorceress discovers the truth about the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield. It's the eve of war. Each must choose a side. KINGDOMS WILL FALL.

Whilst this is a book by an established historical fiction author, it doesn’t necessarily mean that the skills that they’ve developed will translated well for a young reader market and although with an established print record a publisher may be more likely to take a chance on your new title, it doesn’t mean that the most discerning readers of all will like it.

What “Morgan” brings to the fore in this title is a story that grips the reader from the beginning, blending elements of high fantasy with wonderful characters that not only breath but gently introduce you to a brutal world where everything has to be earned including life. It’s definitely going to be something that I feel a lot of young readers will be able to get behind and with the cracking characterisation that allows readers to see the multi-facets of those lead characters, the supporting cast also has to be supported in the way that they help flesh the world out.

Add to this great prose, a pace that’s hard to match alongside hard core action and an author who obviously knows how to work not only your emotions but also your ability to put the book down and all round as a reader its definitely something to sit back and savour.


No comments:

Post a Comment